Home > Random > Picture it…

Picture it…

A cold, rain-spattered morning with watery sunlight dripping through cracks in low hanging, moody clouds onto spindly 40′ pines painting them a brilliant golden green, making them stand starkly out against those same clouds which are dark and dangerous and surely hold the foreboding promise of winter chill. I love Autumn…now all I need is a fireplace, a good book, and a day off.

It is Friday, which is almost my favourite day of the week because I never could decide which was better, Thursday or Friday. The debate goes something like this: Is it better to be on the last day of the week (Friday) or the day on which you anticipate the last day of the week (Thursday). I’ve always been of the mind that anticipation is far better than actually achieving any said desire because the wanting of something can be stretched out much longer than what happens after that. But then again, it’s the anticipation that makes the desired thing so good when you finally do get it. I think it boils down to personal choice. Wanting vs getting.

Anyway…it’s still Friday and if you followed any of what I just wrote, you’re doing far better than I am. Time for another cup of coffee. And you know, there are a few things that go extremely well with coffee, cookies for example but not every kind of cookie. Chocolate chip go very, very well! Peanut butter? Not so much. Today though, in our break room, sits a total assault on my waistline. There is an entire chocolate cake…beckoning. And it don’t look too bad. And it goes even better with coffee than cookies. *sigh* It’s not that chocolate cake is evil…after all, one slice never killed anyone. But even the most diet conscious of persons knows that there is a high likelihood of a 2nd, possibly a 3rd slice following the 1st simply because it sits there…in the break room and calls to you…”my pr-r-r-recious”…”you wants us, you craves us…you can haves us…because we are just. over. here…” (Can you tell I just re-watched Lord of the Rings this week? Bwahahaha!)

So yes, it’s a cold, Autumn morning and I am having coffee and chocolate cake…damnit. I shall retaliate next week be bringing in double fudge brownies WITH icing. That’ll teach’em. Men…who never seem to gain one damn pound. They suck. But they make good cake…gotta give’em that much. *wink*

 

Categories: Random
  1. September 22, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    Do NOT ever feel bad about yummy food!

    Does eating make you feel good? Yes? Then have it! As you said, it’s not as if you gorge on decadent chocolate cake every day! So what if you do every now and then? It’s all a matter of balance! Once here and there is fine (and that includes everyday until the cake is gone!). Everyday, all the time would be bad!

    Besides, that’s also why I’m against all that low sodium–low carb–low fat–no fat–no TASTE! stuff… I may die younger, but I’ll die HAPPY! What’s the point of living till you are 100 if you’re miserable every step of the way? Eat and be happy, I say! ^_^

    (And no, I’m definitely not overweight, so it’s not a case of my trying to justify anything!)

    Hmmm… now *I* want chocolate cake! DAMN YOU!!! :0P

    S.

  2. September 23, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    Yep. You won me over. I gave in and dropped by the grocery on my way back home and embraced the cake too!

    S.

  3. Blu
    September 23, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    That’s okay Babe!!! I wound up having two (and a half) slices…you know, one for each thigh. Bwahahahah!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

