Home > Ummm Good! > Ewww…what’s that green gunk in your glass?

Ewww…what’s that green gunk in your glass?

Ahhh…Green Smoothies.  You see them in Odwalla bottles at the store (usually in the health section – it’s called Superfood) but nothing beats a freshly made Green Smoothie.  Blame my sister, this is ALL her fault! lol!  (NO, this will NOT turn into a health food blog – it’s all random…today I feel like talkin’ smoothies)

I use a Magic Bullet Blender for mine but I hope to graduate to a Vitamix!!  I’m concerned I may have to sell one of my children in order to get one though. O_o 

Some of the health benefits I’ve noticed?

  • increased energy
  • cuts junk food cravings
  • weight loss
  • extremely nutritious (great for people like me who dislike veggies to begin with)

According to Vitoria Boutenko in her book, 12 Steps to Raw Foods, “when blended well, most of the cell walls in the greens and fruits are ruptured, making the valuable nutrients easy for the body to assimilate. Green smoothies literally start to get absorbed in your mouth.”

My favorite recipe is this:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 cups of spinach leaves (fresh)
  • two handfuls of grapes (green)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup ice
  • 1/2 orange juice

Mix is all up and it’s this brilliant green color with a very light, sweet taste and is nice and cold.  Extremely refreshing and really helps me lay off the potato chips and chocolate while getting the daily recommended fruits and veggies servings I need.

And with that, I’ll toast you with my fabulous green smoothie and wish you a wonderful day!

green-smoothie
(photo credit: zinke.wordpress.com
this is her green smoothie, but it looks exactly like mine.)

Categories: Ummm Good!
  1. Jim
    February 8, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Looks delicious!! Can i ask if you’ve discovered (like me) people starting to give you a wide berth after drinking this stuff on account of the strange smells eeking out yer tush!!! Or maybe I’ve just overdone it on the spinach!!!!

  2. moviemavengal
    February 9, 2009 at 3:37 am

    If I have two ripe bananas, I peel them, and then wrap 1/2 of one in saran wrap. Adding frozen bananas to smoothies thickens them up, makes ’em cold, and not watery. I love frozen mango chunks from Trader Joe’s, too!

  3. February 9, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    To Jim: Dude…sounds like you could use some Beano in your life! LMAO!!

    P.S. girls only eek rose petal-type ‘smells’ from their tushes. *wink*

    To moviemavengal: Agreed. Bananas are the secret ingredient to any good smoothie. Even Orange Julius thinks so! I’ll have to give mangos a try though…that sounds delish! :D

  4. Jim
    February 9, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Thanks for the tip, although the only Beano we get in Scotland is a kid’s comic, I suppose i’ll s*@# myself laughing! *Grin*

  5. Shelly again
    February 13, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Funny strange smells eeking from anyone’s tush… ok, this spells “DETOX” (Please note that I did NOT say “smells”).

    You have a diet of a ton of rotting, decomposing (yet powdered up to look nice and fresh in that refrigerated case) flesh clinging to the walls of your intestines… and suddenly you flush down the beautiful soap suds (called “green stuff”) to loosen the madness and it is bound to be horrific. BUT!!! (no pun intended) this is clearly not meant to become a “health blog” so I will leave it at that.

    Sarah Jessica-Parker’s Shoes… DUUUUUUUDE!!!!!! You nailed that.

    SIS.

  6. February 13, 2009 at 5:55 am

    “You have a diet of a ton of rotting, decomposing (yet powdered up to look nice and fresh in that refrigerated case) flesh clinging to the walls of your intestines”

    Thank you Shelly…you have such a way with…words. *gag*
    And hey man, you feel free to pop in your most excellent advice. You’re the one who got me hooked on this “green stuff” in the first place! ;)

  7. August 6, 2009 at 10:55 am

    OMG, that smoothie sounds amazing! In return I’ll share one of my faves with you

    1 Cup milk of choice
    1½ Cup frozen berries (I like raspberries, blueberries and strawberries the best)
    1 frozen banana
    1 apple or pear, cut into chunks
    2-8 scoops Boku Super Food
    1-2 T flax or coconut oil
    Just enough pure water to blend

    Put all ingredients in blender and whiz until smooth; pour into a large glass and enjoy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

