Home > Music > “I’m gobsmacked, absolutely gobsmacked,”

“I’m gobsmacked, absolutely gobsmacked,”

She said.

boyle

Sudden success can do that to a person and she’s definitely on her way. Honestly, at this point…she doesn’t really need “Britain’s Got Talent”.

By now almost everyone knows about the gifted phenomenon that is Susan Boyle, the Scottish lass with a good dose of moxie.

Moxy (mŏk'sē) n. slang: 1. The ability to face difficulty with spirit and courage. 2. Aggressive energy; initiative. 3. Skill; know-how.

So what is it about her?  As singers go, she is exceptional, but not a prodigy.  Good singers are a dime a dozen…and even great singers are becoming rather commonplace.  She doesn’t have the most original voice in the world and in fact, by her own admission could “improve and get better.”  She said, “I’m please [sic] with my performance, but I can do better.”

It’s nothing but the obvious.  The Underdog that stuns the world, literally.  She walked out on that stage with a goofy kind of self-confidence and I admit it…I rolled my eyes.  That thing they say about first impressions…it’s true.  We all do it, we judge people before they even have a chance.  That is one of the most basic of human characteristics.  I am happy to admit I was a fool for my initial lack of faith in Susan Boyle.

I have to say, I love it when stuff like this happens.  Knowing her situation, unemployed, enduring the sad passing of her mother, the lack of opportunity for her own musical aspirations…and the song she chose.  “I had a dream my life would be, So different from this hell I’m living.  So different now from what it seemed, now life has killed the dream I dreamed.”  She is singing about her self, her life…and it breaks the heart to hear it so beautifully done.

The irony (and you know I’m a big fan of irony): her singing a song that proclaims the death of a dream is actually the song that catapults her into world-wide acclaim.

In 1999, Susan made a professional recording of “Cry Me a River”…and her voice is just as golden then as it is now:

Only 1000 copies of the disc were ever produced, but we’ve got hold of the long-forgotten recording and it’s now on our site. A showbiz insider said: “This is a real coup for the Record. The whole world would have wanted to find this.

“People will be scrambling to get their hands on this CD. They will be like gold dust soon.”

….

It’s all a far cry from 1999, when Susan recorded her track for the charity compilation CD at Whitburn Academy, where X Factor winner Leon Jackson went to school.

The Millennium Celebration disc, which was partly funded by Whitburn Community Council, was the brainchild of local newspaper editor Eddie Anderson.

He launched a search for unsigned acts to take part. And as soon as he heard Susan at the auditions he knew he had found something special.

“I was amazed when she sang,” Eddie said. “It was probably the same reaction as everyone had last Saturday.

“Susan was exactly the same then as she is now. She has a fabulous and unique talent.”

Excerpts:  The Daily Record article

Onward and upward.  The best is yet to come.

I can’t wait to hear what she brings us in the future. She is the poster-child for hopes fullfilled and dreams come true. GO SUSAN!!!

NOTE:  Photo credits unknown.  I found them here: DeadlinenewsTV

Categories: Music
  1. MINNIE MOUSE EARS
    April 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Totally inspiring!

  2. ScreeminMimi
    April 30, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I hope she wins BIG!

    She is an inspiration to women everywhere who do not fit “THE Look” “THE proper weight” “THE dress code ” SHE ROCKS… HANDS DOWN!

    God has given her such a WONDERFUL gift… the fact that she took care of her Mumm before she passed away… BONUS CREDITS!!!!!

    I hope and PRAY she wins, she deserves to win. You go girl!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

