Home > My Photos > No way out…

No way out…

For a Pinata, being the life of the party is the last thing you'll ever do.

For a pinata, being the life of the party is the last thing it’ll ever do.

Oh…the horror of it all.

Categories: My Photos
  1. July 20, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Now this is what I like about your blog – you prod me to rethink and maybe challenge my frame of reference. Upon a moments reflection I realize now what a horrific and violent event the pinata ritual is. We hang an innocent, defenseless animal from a cruel rope, and gleefully encourage our children, already amped up on birthday cake and red fruit punch, to each take a turn beating it with a club until its body, battered and bruised, is finally rent asunder and spills its sweet symbolic entrails onto the ground where they are greedily scooped up and eaten by the frenzied mob of youngsters. Oh the horror indeed! What are we teaching our children!

    Or maybe…I’m overly analyzing this and being too PC…:)

    • July 23, 2009 at 8:20 am

      It would probably horrify you even further to know that my DD mounted the head of the pinata on the wall in her bedroom.

      I’m not sure which is worse…that I suggested it or that she loved the idea. Either way…there is something really wrong somewhere, lol! ;)

  2. ScreeminMimi
    July 20, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Poor Poor Pinata, what cruel end… but wait… you had one when YOU were a little girl… I know you did. so, are you a killer ???

    No wait, that makes me an accessory to murder… nevermind.. I said nothing. This will lead to govt. cover ups I just know it… where is that delete button again….

    • July 23, 2009 at 8:22 am

      The only kind of killer I am is a cereal killer…I have a very unhealthy love of devouring Cocoa-Puffs.

      And don’t worry…you are totally in the clear. I never had a pinata growing up. :D

  1. August 8, 2009 at 1:14 pm
  2. August 8, 2009 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

