Home > Random > The Neti Pot: aka Do-It-Yourself Waterboarding

The Neti Pot: aka Do-It-Yourself Waterboarding

With the allergy season bearing down upon me because spring is actually already here (yeah, my thundercloud plum has been in FULL bloom for the last week! a full month early!?!), I find myself facing a question that has long plagued my mind she said, dramatically.  To Neti Pot, or not…should I shoot water up my nose.

Awww...isn't that cute? Looks a bit like a Geni's lamp. Maybe if I rub it, my snot will disappear. *fingers crossed*

I am assured that this little device is to nasal passages what a good approval rating is to Pres. Obama, however, I can’t quite seem to get past the obvious; this basically is voluntary waterboarding, and I have a pretty high fear of drowning…or anything remotely close to it (that scene from “The Abyss”?  Do you freaking remember that scene??? ACK!!!).  How does one muster the will to do this?  I’ve always been a little skittish about being under water anyway…even though I grew up on a lake. *cough*

And let’s be real here, it just sounds nasty, and looks even worse.  I mean, if I looked like this doing it, then yeah…why WOULDN’T I?!…but we all know it would be a lot more like this.  *shudder*

I dunno.  I might be desperate enough this year to actually take “the plunge”, and I’m cheap enough to justify saving the $$$ I normally would be spending on drugs, though I kinda do enjoy the little “buzz” I get from my Claritin-D (is it bad to admit that? LOL!).  It’s a toss up at this point.

Categories: Random Tags: ,
  1. cb808
    February 27, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Don’t be scared! I have rinsed out my sinuses for years and LOVE it. I can’t imagine a day without it! The only thing is that I use a nasopure bottle now because it is a lot easier to use than the traditional neti. there is a ton of good information on the website nasopure.com

  2. Jeff
    February 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Being allergic to 23 out of the 24 local pollens in my area (lucky me), I found your musings on the Neti Pot amusing (play on words intended). I really liked your Abyss analogy and the accompanying images as it does feel that way when you do it. I have used a similar nasal cleaning system and yes, you must contort your head in ways similar to the image you provided.

    I guess the alternative is to suck it out – a friend of mine is a nurse in the critical care unit. I have been congested as of late and she told me one of the things she has to do is clear the airways of unconscious patients, and she using a device that sucks the junk out. Yikes! The Neti Pot is looking pretty nice after hearing that.

    Thank you for a good laugh and for your thoughts. Thank you also for allowing me to share my thoughts, too.

  3. Sis
    February 28, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Reality check:

    1. You aren’t shooting water up your nose. You are gently allowing gravity to wash it through in a very zen like way. Consider it a gentle jacuzzi for your tortured sinuses.

    2. It is the one thing that really soothes the inflamation. No Afrin, Vicks, Mucinex, or any other drug can solve the issues as completely and naturally as the Neti pot can.

    3. Pills?? Forget them!!!! You are putting chemicals through your internal organs. Now everything has to suffer!!!!

    I was a chronic sinus infection sufferer. I have been addicted to over the counter nasal sprays. I have suffered a long time during many allergy seasons until I tried the Neti Pot.

    4. I have saved SO MUCH MONEY !!!! I don’t have to buy over the counter drugs. I don’t have to sit in a Dr’s office to be told that I should try his latest and greatest drug. My body wants the salt water!!!!

    I’m just sayin!!!!!!

  4. Jeff
    March 1, 2010 at 12:58 am

    To all – my apologies for not responding sooner – finals, need I say more. LOL

    I actually have been using one called NielMed Sinus Rinse. It has little packets you mix with water then rinse away. It has worked well for me, but sometimes it burns which is why I have considered the Neti Pot as it was recommended to me by a friend.

    @cb808 – thanks for the encouragement and no worries as I am not scared. I mainly was commenting on BlueEyedDaizy’s commentary about using sinus rinsing devices. Having used a similar device (see above) I found her discussion amusing. I also have a pinched nerve in my low back making these devices difficult for me to use without making a mess. ;-)

    @Sis – nice reality check. Like you, I have been a chronic sinus infection person typically linked to allergy nasal sprays. The current one I am on (Omnaris) has worked well thus far. Although I am having sinus issues due to allergies at this time. I have gotten good at recognizing when they are coming and using heat to loosen things up and prevent the infection from happening – works 99% of the time.

    Based on the comments by all three of you, I will be looking for a Neti Pot and hopefully discovering allergy relief as you have. Thank you all for your feedback and BlueEyedDaizy for starting a blog on the subject.

    Take care everyone!

  5. Sis
    March 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Keep us posted on your progress! I hate those dumb little “packets”. Been there with those. You can use kosher salt and it works very well. Even my son is using the neti pot now and it is helping him too. :0)

  6. ScreeminMimi
    March 2, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Here we go! The netti pot. If I had a $1 for everytime you stuck (voluntarily I might add) stuff up your nose when you were a kid… insert rest of info… :D

    Recite after me…. “IT WORKS”! No waterboarding, just goes into one side of yr nose and out the other. Rinse & repeat.

    To summerize: IT WORKS! hugs & be well.

    ScreeminMimi

    • March 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      I think you are confusing me with one of your other children, lol!! *wink*

  7. March 4, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Blu,

    I use the kind that’s a squirt bottle that comes with the little packets. It has been a life saver for me. I don’t use it every day, but when I feel a cold or allergies coming on, I squirt at least twice a day to clean the gunk out. It does feel weird at first, but feels so good after!

    Stopped many a sinus infection from catching hold for me!

    My little guy uses just plain nasal saline spray twice a day to rinse his out. Try that if the other is too weird for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

