Home > Politics > Our tax dollars…burning in front of our eyes…

Our tax dollars…burning in front of our eyes…

Have you received your letter reminding you to expect the 2010 census packet in the mail soon?  I got mine and boy, am I ever grateful that the federal government had the foresight to mail me a notice telling me that the census packet that I already was expecting and will be mailed to me soon is about to be mailed to me soon!  I mean, what if I had gone to the store or something?!?  I might have missed it altogether! <insert shriek of terror>

Wait a minute…no I wouldn’t have…it would have been waiting right in my mail box with the rest of my mail.  I would have seen it anyway!

So then, the purpose of the pre-letter would be…?  Ah yes, to unecessarily spend millions of dollars that we, the American people, do not have to spend…again.

FYI:  There are approximately 114,825,428 households in the US. If they (and by “they” I mean WE) spent 5 cents for paper/ink/envelope and 20 cents on postage (bulk rates),  that’d be $. 25 cents times 114,825,428 households = $28.7 MILLION dollars.

Wanna take a guess as to how much the Census packet will be costing us? *smirk*

I think this should be the required screensaver of EVERY congressman in the US.

Categories: Politics Tags: ,
  1. Ann
    March 20, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Well get this. We received our letter and then the Census… so we quickly filled it out and sent it in. A week ago we received another letter and now we have received our second Census…now what do we do? There is a phone number I plan on calling to see if our delemna can be radified so then we ask ourselves if every household gets 2 sets of forms then how much is it going to cost, yikes. :{ I love your blog!!

    • March 21, 2010 at 12:14 am

      Wait a minute…wait just a minute. You got your pre-letter and your census form, filled it out, sent it back and…they didn’t believe you?!? So they sent you another pre-letter and another census form for you to fill out and send in…again?!?

      Unbelievable.

      And yet, I am so not shocked. Government efficiency in action. Can you imagine how difficult it’s going to be to refute an insurance claim denial if ObamaCare is actually enacted? I seriously shudder at the thought.

  2. Annie
    March 24, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Some people have said that the US immigration office is going to trace census respondents, find out if they are in this country legally, then locate and deport them if they are not. It’s part of a crackdown on undocumented workers — SO wrong!

  1. March 9, 2010 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

